1. Food

Agar Agar

By

Agar Agar

Made with agar flakes, this vegan creme caramel recipe is easy and much healthier than cream-and-egg based recipes.

© 2008 Ashley Skabar, licensed to About.com, Inc.
Definition:

Agar Agar is a vegetarian gelatin substitute produced from a variety of seaweed vegetation. It is sold in health food stores in both flake and powder varieties, and can be used in a variety of dairy-free and vegan recipes as a stabilizing and thickening agent for custards,puddings, sauces and even vegetarian marshmallows.

To use agar flakes in recipes, traditional instructions call for 1 T. of agar flakes to every cup of water or juice, but these measurements may vary from recipe to recipe. Like animal-based gelatin, the agar is dissolved in the liquid in a small saucepan over medium-high heat, brought to a boil and then simmered until slightly thickened, about 5-7 minutes. It is then chilled in the refrigerator until set and typically enjoyed cold.

Try some of these Dairy-Free Recipes that use Agar Flakes:

Vegan Chocolate Pots de Crème
Pronunciation: AH - gahr
Also Known As: Agar, Agar Agar, Agar Flakes, Agar Gelatin, Agar Powder
  1. About.com
  2. Food
  3. Dairy Free Cooking
  4. Dairy-Free Glossary
  5. Agar Agar - What is Agar - Agar Flakes - How to Use Agar Flakes - Recipes with Agar Flakes

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.