1. Food
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Are Eggs Considered Dairy?


Free range eggs in bowl
Barry Wong/Photodisc/Getty Images
Question: Are Eggs Considered Dairy?
Answer: Contrary to a somewhat common misconception, eggs are not considered a dairy product, which refers to the product of the mammary glands of mammals such as cows, goats, sheep and others, and the products derived thereof. The misconception that eggs are dairy products is often a result of a confusion between the terms dairy product and animal byproduct. While eggs are, indeed, produced by animals and, therefore, an animal byproduct, they are not a dairy product or a derivative of dairy products.

Although many persons who do not consume dairy products also do not consume eggs as a result of allergies, dietary restrictions, ethical beliefs or other reasons, persons who have milk allergies or are lactose intolerant but do not have an allergy to eggs are able to consume eggs as a part of their diet without the negative results associated with dairy intolerances or allergies.

Two groups that choose to abstain from consuming both eggs and dairy for reasons other than allergies are vegans, or persons do not consume animal products or byproducts, and some Jewish communities that do not consume eggs with dairy if the egg was found inside the chicken and not laid. (This is because an un-laid egg is considered meat and it is not Kosher to consume dairy with meat, not because eggs are considered dairy. For more information, read About.com’s Guide to Judaism’s article on keeping Kosher)

For a few dairy-free recipes that are also egg-free, here are a few of my favorites:

  1. About.com
  2. Food
  3. Dairy Free Cooking
  4. Dairy-Free Basics
  5. Are Eggs Considered Dairy Products?

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.