Tomatoes are a fruit, but, like avocados, they're rarely treated as such. But, oh, when they are it is glorious.
This week, I was flipping through the latest issue of Bon Appetit when I was gripped by a vibrant, beautiful photograph of a summery tomato tarte tatin. As most of you dairy-freers know, puff pastry (the dough used in most tart tatin recipes) is loaded with butter, so simply following the recipe was out, but I was inspired to create my own Caramelized Tomato Tart with a dairy-free crust.
My household looked at it and initially thought it was some sort of savory dish or deep dish pizza, so they were skeptical when I told them that, no, it was a dessert. They were all pleasantly surprised, however, if the empty tart pan was any indication!
The tart dough I used for the recipe contains and egg, so if you're vegan, you might try this Vegan Almond Tart Dough or another vegan tart crust instead.
Photos © 2010 Ashley Skabar, licensed to About.com, Inc.