1. Food
Are eggs dairy?In honor of National Egg Month, I thought I would address a common misconception in the dairy-free community regarding eggs. Sometimes it is the case that the terms dairy products and animal byproducts are confused, and the end result is that eggs, an animal byproduct are thought to also be a dairy product. However, although they are located in the same section of the grocery store, eggs are not dairy, and persons with milk allergies, casein intolerance or lactose intolerance who do not have allergies to eggs are able to consume eggs without the physical side effects experienced when consuming dairy products.

If you are vegan or suffer from allergies to both dairy and eggs, here are a few of my favorite dairy-free and egg-free recipes:

Photo © 2008 Ashley Skabar, licensed to About.com, Inc.

Comments

No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment


Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
  1. About.com
  2. Food
  3. Dairy Free Cooking

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.